Zone 11 (Manning District) Bowling Association Inc.

The Zone 11 (Manning District) Bowling Association Inc. is managed by an Executive Committee and Delegates (2) appointed from each of the 15 affiliated clubs of the Zone – known as the Management Committee.

The Zone 11 (Manning District) Bowling Association Inc. Management Committee meet on the fourth Monday of February, May, August and November. The August meeting will precede the Annual General Meeting.



The 2016 NSW state finals were this year held at Wagga Wagga Rules Club. In the pairs our representatives were Steve Hinton and George McCartney from Tuncurry Sporties who were up against the strong pair of Daniel Mathieson and Michael Cronin from East Cessnock. Having lost six of the first seven ends our guys trailed 1-16. They never recovered from this start and eventually went down 9-33 with Mathieson and Cronin going on to win the final.

In the singles event Keedon McGuire from Forster was up against Jarrod Duncan from the Alder Park club in Newcastle. Keedon started well and jumped out to a 15-5 lead before his opponent fought back, eventually levelling the scores at 22-22. The lead then changed several times before Keedon won three ends in a row to lead 30-28, with just one shot remaining to win. His opponent then rallied to score a 2 and a 1 to take the match by the narrowest of margins, 31-30.

Posted in Notice Board | Leave a comment


The 2016 Zone Presentation Night was held recently at Forster Bowling Club. This night is held annually to honour all those players who have won zone championships throughout this year. At this our first presentation night as Zone 11, we were honoured by the presence of our newly elected State President Barry Watkins, from Cabramatta Bowling Club. This was a first for our area and his attendance was greatly appreciated.

The main awards for the night were for Junior Bowler of the Year and Zone Bowler of the Year. Junior Bowler of the Year was won by Lewis Williams of Tuncurry Beach, with the major prize, Zone 11 Bowler of the Year being won by Keedon Maguire of Forster Bowling Club. Congratulations to all the winners and good luck for 2017.

Posted in Notice Board | Leave a comment


After 8 days of bowls the NSW State Championships have come to a conclusion at Ettalong Bowling Club. With the champions from 16 zones across the state competing in all events the competition to progress to the finals was fierce. Unfortunately most of our local representatives made an early exit, although Jason Morse’s team from Forster were very competetive in the fours event. With one bowl to play they were holding 2 shots and game. Then former Australian player Wayne Turley calmly drew the shot to clinch the match 20-18.

Kevin Robinson(open singles) and Noel James(senior singles) both progressed to the quarter finals. Kevin was defeated by Tom Ellem 31-25 and Noel was defeated in a real cliffhanger 31-30 by eventual winner Crawford Linton.

Posted in Notice Board | Leave a comment


The weekend of the 8th and 9th of October saw the state finals of the rookie singles and pairs conducted at Raymond Terrace Bowling Club. This event is for people who gave been playing lawn bowls for less than 30 months. In the singles the first player to reach 17 shots wins the game. Our representative was John Beach jnr  from Taree West.

In the singles John played three sectional games, and with all four players recording one win and one loss in their first two games it came down to the best result in game three. John brought out his A game to win 17-6 and claim the semi-final berth with a larger shot difference.  In the semi-final John won the first end but then fell behind 4-12. Although John fought hard and matched his opponent over the last ends he was defeated 9-17 by Troy McGregor (Padstow) who then went on to win the final.  Congratulations to John on a great effort to reach the semi’s of this event. We wish you all the best in your future bowling career.

Norm Copeland and John Lee from Taree leagues represented us in the pairs. Sectional play is over 12 ends with each player playing three bowls. Norm and John won two of their three games, as did two other teams. With a three way tie, and despite winning their third game 13-8, they missed out on a semi-final berth on a count-back of shots difference.  Well done Norm and John and good luck in the future.

Posted in Notice Board | Leave a comment